Visual Arts

Visual Arts

The Visual Arts curriculum consists of six strands. Each strand represents a medium for developing the child’s expressive abilities. The six strands are:
Paint and Colour
Fabric and Fibre
Through these six strands, children explore the following seven visual elements when making, looking at, and responding to art; line, shape, form, colour and tone, pattern and rhythm,
texture and spatial organisation. The Visual arts curriculum emphasises
three starting points for the child’s art activities:
the child’s own experience
the child’s imagination
the child’s observations.
Through the Visual Arts curriculum, the child is encouraged to look at and respond to a wide variety of artworks. It is through talking about these artworks that the child develops he visual sensitivity to the elements, and begins to use them purposefully in his/her own art making. Of all the visual arts media, drawing has primary importance in the Visual arts curriculum, and it is through drawing that children’s development in art is most evident. In making art, the process of making is as valuable as the final product.